Istio as BFF in the Auth Code Flow With PKCE

Hi, I am wondering:
Can we use istio as the BFF described in the BCP ?

I am new to istio, from what I already learned from istio docs, it seems istio can help to validate JWT tokens to insure client have the right to access some resource. but for my case, SPA + Backend, SPA is browser based, it’s deprected to store Access Token in client side, so the IETF BCP suggest a BFF to handle this. Peronally , I want to avoid implementing a seprate backend to do this, I think some gateway or service mesh can take care of these concerns, same as loading balancing, logging, tracing, these shared feature should be provided by PaaS.

Does istio already support this?

Hi,

I am a newby and I am not affiliated with the Istio project…

I don’t really understand why “it’s deprecated to store Access Token on the client side” and how you can store it elsewhere?
> Unless you’re talking about storing the token of a hosted service outside the BFF cluster. User A → Browser → token A → BFF → Token B → External service B. (if yes look at the end)

According to: JSON Web Token - Wikipedia
The backend generates a token using the client credentials, and the client uses the token to access the backend resources, so the token must be stored on the client…

If that helps, here’s how I do it with Istio:

1. I have an “authenticator” in my backend that uses Jose to generate a token after verifying the client’s credentials (using a secure connection: HTTPS). But you can use an external authenticator like Google or any social network ones.
  2. The client stores the token on the client browser’s memory, and the browser’s isolation ensures that no other tab can access it.
  3. When the client calls the back-end service, it injects this token on the request header.
    Example: Authorization: Bearer «place the token here».
  4. The istio ingress is configured to verify the token; the documentation is here: Istio / JWT Token