Monitoring Istio components?

Hey
I’m new to Istio, and I’m trying to figure, as a cluster operator, what are the things I should monitor before providing Istio for my users. I assume that mixer and pilot are the critical services, and I should monitor that they are running - but is there an existing documentation to what I should monitor?

A good place to start may be the existing Grafana dashboards. They provide examples of monitoring Istio components (and the queries that power that monitoring).

You can also look through the docs on the metrics exported by the various Istio components (for example, Pilot).

That’s what I ended up doing, but having such a documentation could be really valuable.

@omerlh

I ended up doing something like this

- alert: IstioPilotAvailabilityDrop
    annotations:
      summary: 'Istio Pilot Availability Drop'
      description: 'Pilot pods have dropped during the last 5m (current value: *{{ printf "%2.0f%%" $value }}*). Envoy sidecars might have outdated configuration'
    expr: >
      avg(avg_over_time(up{job="pilot"}[1m])) < 0.5
    for: 5m

- alert: IstioMixerTelemetryAvailabilityDrop
    annotations:
      summary: 'Istio Mixer Telemetry Drop'
      description: 'Mixer pods have dropped during the last 5m (current value: *{{ printf "%2.0f%%" $value }}*). Istio metrics will not work correctly'
      avg(avg_over_time(up{job="mixer", service="istio-telemetry", endpoint="http-monitoring"}[5m])) < 0.5

- alert: IstioGalleyAvailabilityDrop
    annotations:
      summary: 'Istio Galley Availability Drop'
      description: 'Galley pods have dropped during the last 5m (current value: *{{ printf "%2.0f%%" $value }}*). Istio config ingestion and processing will not work'
      avg(avg_over_time(up{job="galley"}[5m])) < 0.5

- alert: IstioGatewayAvailabilityDrop
    annotations:
      summary: 'Istio Gateway Availability Drop'